How to Properly Read Food Labels

406744_10151380272650407_1601680713_n-1

( “…eating should be a guilt free and happy experience…” )

We certainly are living in the age of information, aren’t we? There’s almost nothing that we can’t learn by simply using google, and boy is that handy. I mean, before I even went to school I was (attempting to ) counseling my family and friends! One fallback of all this readily available information, however, is that it causes us to think just a little too much.

What, you ask!? What an absurd thing to say right?

Not really. As I mentioned in one of my last posts, the sea of contradictory nutritional advice is to the point of being completely overwhelming to many, many people. We’re taught to read labels, and different sources will tell you varying opinions about what you should avoid and what is acceptable, or “healthy”.

As I’ve also mentioned, eating is very intuitive/instinctual, though we’ve tuned out that ability by allowing our brains to work on overtime in trying to calculate the proper ratio of carbs to fats, ect. We have so preoccupied ourselves with reading labels and researching what ingredients truly are healthy, that we are totally unaware that our bodies already know everything we’re looking to find.

We can try and out-think nature, but we will fail every time. Our brains are capable of incredible intelligence, but when it comes to healthy eating, our brains are required for common sense and nothing more. You see, some food is good for you , and some food isn’t. It’s as simple as that, but at some point or another, the food that is good for you will probably be under fire from the media. Will you stop eating it then?

There always has ( and always will be ) new research and evidence coming to the spotlight. We are then told that these “new findings” hold the secret to the true way of healthy eating, and until now we’ve been completely blind as to what that was.

Take coconut oil for example. “New studies have found that actually, coconut oil is healthy fat. Go ahead and eat it once daily!” Really? New studies? Just because coconut oil was adulterated and then ostracized in the U.S. doesn’t mean that this is some new discovery. It’s actually knowledge as old as time, it just happens to be on the up side of the cycle at present. In twenty years it might well be an artery clogging danger food that we should once again avoid at all costs.

Butter and saturated fats are other such examples. While there are many opinions about weather or not these foods are healthy, I’m not speculating on that now. What I’m speculating on is just how funny it is that for, I don’t even know how long now, butter and saturated fats have been the anti-Christ of foods, and now…wa-la! They are healthy once again!

If we look at the pattern, we can safely assume that for every healthy food there is a season. I’m a juicing lover of the most dedicated kind, but I’m sure there will come a time when it’s simply not healthy anymore. Scientists might discover that, in truth, juice provides too high a dose of ‘plant toxins’ and is therefore not such a good idea for daily consumption. I would of coarse then follow the government’s well researched advice and find a new healthy beverage to consume, preferably something that is pasteurized, as recommended by our beloved FDA.

Not really.

I will say “whatev” and continue the life giving tradition that has indeed stood the test of time, dating back well before the birth of Christ. Because my body tells me so, I know beyond the shadow of a doubt that juicing is good for my family, and I will not ever allow up-and-coming evidence to sway me from my inner knowledge.

So, I still haven’t cleared anything up for you about how to read labels properly have I? Alright, and your not going to like this by the way, but here comes the truth. The only two surefire ways to be certain that what you are eating is healthy are as follows:

#1. If it has more than 2 or 3  ingredients, DON’T eat it.

#2. If you saw it on a commercial or in a magazine, DON’T eat it.

Notice how you never see a company advertising organic onions? That’s because people can’t produce onions in a lab. There’s big money in advertising, and because all major food companies are big business, they don’t give a flying chicken about your health. In fact, They’re busy clipping the beak off that chicken right now so that it can’t gouge any of it’s fellow inmates before you can buy them off the shelves. BUT I digress…

Now if you’ve read any of my articles up until now you might be thinking, well what about soy? Yes, there are many people who vehemently defend the usage of Americanized soy products as a health food, and as I have listed the dangers I clearly disagree. You might be thinking that this is a contradiction to todays post, but it is in fact where the common sense I mentioned comes in.

There is a huge and growing market right now for health foods, and don’t think that big companies in the food industry aren’t quick to take advantage of that. We as health connoisseurs have to be carful that we’re not simply consumers jumping on another bandwagon of toxins because it has been approved by the FDA.

A good measure of a foods credibility can often be determined by looking at weather or not it’s currently being used in a historical way. I mean to say, if it’s being processed and eaten differently than it was for thousands of years, or as intended by nature, it’s probably being exploited.

There you go, reading labels made simple. Hopefully I’ve given you something to think about, but remember, no matter what you are eating, the most important thing is that it makes YOU feel good. If soy makes you feel good, eat it. If donuts make you feel good, eat them ( although they won’t make you feel good for too long, and you can’t deny it 😉 ). My point is, eating should be a guilt free and happy experience!

Feel free to contact me with any questions, I love hearing from you ❤

One thought on “How to Properly Read Food Labels

Leave a Reply

