The children that should have been aborted

monkimage.php

The following was my response to a very popular pro-choice female blogger and Planned Parenthood supporter claiming that she had seen too many foster children who should have been aborted. I believe her exact words were, “I’ve seen foster kids who have gone from home to home, and whatever, and their quality of life was just not that great and it was never going to get better.” The implication was clear in the text; they really would be better off had they been aborted.

To a certain extent, this is true. We can’t save babies. Mothers and babies are a package deal, and it’s the mothers that need to be protected. At the end of an abortion, the baby will find peace. The mother will still be left to deal with the physical, emotional and spiritual damage that is not talked about in our culture.

My response gained a lot of attention in her comment section, triggering hate as well as praise, so here again I’ll share it with you: AbortionHurtsWomen-1   How heartbreaking it is, just how arrogant we have become to believe that we can know who should have died and who logically should live. We have forgotten that the act of sex is designed for procreation, and so when a baby pops up “out of the blue” and surprises us, of course we must then ‘choose’. It is in this way that babies are rendered the enemy of sex, and just as we must in every war, we dehumanize the enemy to make ourselves feel justified in our killings.

When I “fell pregnant” ( I’ve literally heard that term used with sincerity ) in a dark time during my late teens, I was, and am forever so grateful to have already seen the suffering of women who had been lied to before me. I knew that in my womb was nothing less than a beautiful baby with a soul and a heartbeat.

Why else would other women spend their lives grieving the loss of “a mass of cells and tissue”? Why would the birth of their next child be both a joyous time and a heart aching reminder of what was snuffed out years earlier? 180-movie If you haven’t seen the movie 180, well…I won’t recommend you watch it because I know you won’t. I often think of one powerful clip of real footage in which a group of German townsfolk take a stroll down to their local concentration camp after seeing a billow of smoke rising above it. Upon entering the furnace their faces are happy and carefree. Upon leaving they are in tears and no less than horror-struck.

We can be told someone is not human enough times that we eventually can believe it’s true. But to see, firsthand, bodies burning – if you could see a baby thrown in the trash can after having it’s brain vacuumed out, if you could see a baby have its precious limbs removed or be burned in acid – it might break you of the lies you cling to. Best quote from October Baby by an office assistant – “I saw him lying there, shaking on the table, and I didn’t see no mass of cells, I saw the face of a child…” 23-week-fetus-abortion-i0   To be clear, I do not believe abortion will ever be stopped. But my wish for every woman who faces unplanned pregnancy is that the lies and secrecy around abortion would end. I wish for them that we might brave the truth, and speak it. I wish they could be told what their baby looks like before seeing him or her hauled to the trash can, because that image will haunt them until death. It’s not fair.

Let’s speak the truth about fetal development, and then let who still wishes abort. Let’s give women the opportunity to make informed choices, and let’s stop allowing ourselves and teaching our daughters to become mere pawns for political gain by those who will never know the pain we might face. 50997447234febdcb28a9d194cdb226e We cannot escape the physical and emotional laws of cause and effect. A child may be killed but it doesn’t mean they never existed; they’re just dead, and a world of unspoken hurt has been created for a new mother.

Leave a Reply

