I don’t apologize for being great.

I’m “that mom”. You know, the one who is obsessively perfectionistic about her kids.

They don’t eat junk food – heck, don’t come anywhere near them with GMOs – they’re home schooled, and they don’t watch TV, save the occasional pre approved Netflix shows.

The real cherry on top is their questioning of the dietary habits of adults around us, “Does that ( diet Pepsi ) have sugar? Mommy says that’s not good.”

photo-142

They, whoever they may be in this particular context, have a name for moms like me, the one accompanied by that obligatory eye roll: Crunchy Mom.

I really can’t stand that name.

Anyways, there was a time, I’ll admit, where I tried to blend in with my fellow American mom. Now I just own it.

I own my natural inclinations, my unique scope of the world, my devotion to seeking God and truth in the mundane and in the exciting; I truly love being extraordinary.

Full Definition of EXTRAORDINARY

1
a : going beyond what is usual, regular, or customary <extraordinary powers>
b : exceptional to a very marked extent <extraordinary beauty>

photo-135

“OK,” you’re now thinking. “Ashley is full of Ashley.”

If admitting to being more than ordinary is conceit, I’ll own that too.

I contemplate often the real meaning of what it is to be extraordinary, vs ordinary. After all, how do we define ordinary?

: normal or usual : not unusual, different, or special

: neither very good nor very bad : not very impressive
Full Definition of ORDINARY

1
: of a kind to be expected in the normal order of events : routine, usual <an ordinary day>
2
: having or constituting immediate or original jurisdiction; also : belonging to such jurisdiction
3
a : of common quality, rank, or ability <an ordinary teenager>

What I have learned to possess in the past years’ journey to becoming a woman is the understanding that ordinary is, despite the definition, actually a simple facade; an illusion of conformity we create anew generation after generation to ensure that the existing forms of hierarchy persist.

I don’t imagine it takes much more than a basic understanding of human psychology to run the world. It is said that there are 1,500 newspapers, 1,100 magazines, 9,000 radio stations, 1,500 TV stations and 2,400 publishers all owned by 6 corporations and 272 executives. 

It doesn’t take a mastermind of discernment to figure out that a very few create normal, and a great many enforce normal.

IMG_0222

What am I getting at?

I am thrilled about being liberated from my cage of normalcy, and it’s OK for my children to know they ARE different from everyone else!

I struggle with a lot of things on a day-to-day basis, and despite what I may try to convey through social media, my life is no glamorous health show.

photo-39

But so many times people say to me, in regards to health for example, “I don’t want your kids to feel left out,” or, “I wish your kids could eat what everyone else is eating.”

By all means, LEAVE them out! I so badly WANT them to know they aren’t normal.

I want them to know that there aren’t any ‘normal’ people, only caged people waiting for their chance to escape and release the greatness trapped within.

We each have a unique light and mission within us that we are sent here to share. The question is, will you wait for others to grant you permission to share it?

photo-41

By waiting you chance cheating the world of your irreplaceable contribution.

None of us is purposeless or without greatness. You are a divine creation of the Father; walk with him, that which strengthens you, and do not wait for worldly acceptance to do your work here.

 

12 thoughts on “I don’t apologize for being great.

  1. Thank you so much for this post. I need to remember it’s ok to embrace my “crunchy mom” status and not worry that I don’t fit in. I hate offending people when they offer my children garbage foods, but I am the Mom and I can say No and embrace our lifestyle. You’re awesome!

  2. I love your post!
    One thing I know for sure is Im so sick of eye one telling me who I should be … We know media is so busy trying to shame those that do not conform to the world they create as “norn” that when you have that courage inside to shout out “Im different” hell yes say it & post it!
    I am still on my journey bettering my awesomeness but being different has always been something people have wanted to control out of me….I’ve only recently come to the point of saying “I love you and you are a great person exactly the way you are”. Congratulations on your courage and lifestyle!

    Ps your family is beautiful!

  3. This was the best thing I have read in so long! You just inspired me, encouraged me and reinforced my way of thinking! I was such a complete toxic child, who lived the standard American diet and lifestyle, and have really tried to break out of the box and create an entirely new lifestyle for me and my family! I live an insanely busy life of owning multiple businesses and being a mother and a wife, and although I often feel like I am exhausted, I am PROUD that I have given every spare thought I have each day to better my health, and do or make something healthy for my family! Thank you for your words of wisdom and for taking the time to share them!

  4. I read this post a bit ago, let it sit, then reread it. I feel compelled to share my thoughts…….I choose joy everyday, I don’t pretend to be joyful, I am joyful. Complaining is for the week and lazy. The uneventful. Why joy? Because I’m a magnet. A magnet for the “one in a million chance” of things that can go wrong. I am the most unlucky person of my friends. All things extreme find themselves on my doorstep. But, here’s the good part, ……through all the bad luck I am blessed. I’ve been blessed with immense pain tolerance, the ability to laugh, and a husband and children who fill my heart. I will not apologize for my blessings. I will not dilute them for the comfort level of others. I will not be told to, “not push myself” from people who chose to sleep their lives away. We were not born to simply work to pay bills. We were born to live, truly live and glorify God. I live on the side of simplicity so that I can simply live. The “Jones” having nothing on me, if I don’t try to keep up with them. Though I dream and have aspirations of where I’d like to be and what I still hope to accomplish, I’m patient in waiting on his timing. This kind of security can make others uncomfortable. I make no apologize, life is for the taking. Though I won’t call myself great, I won’t apologize for the greatness in my life and the ability to rise above the bad luck. Much love and hugs, and keep pressing on……

Leave a Reply

